Orchestra of Opera North - Music of Consequence

Thursday  24 January  2019  11:30 AM
Save Saved
Last update 25/01/2019

Music of Consequence
Wagner, Ravel and Shostakovich
Huddersfield Town Hall
Thu 24th January
Part of the Kirklees Concert Season 2018/2019
Few pieces demonstrate the effects of war more starkly than Ravel’s Piano Concerto in D major, written for the Austrian pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who lost his right arm in World War I. This extraordinary work will be performed by award-winning French pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, a renowned exponent of Ravel’s music who makes his Kirklees début alongside conductor Christoph Altstaedt.
Sandwiching the concerto are Shostakovich’s 15th and final symphony, and Wagner’s Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde. Shostakovich’s 15th is a profound piece where nothing is quite as it seems. Quotations from other musical works litter the symphony, none more poignantly than the leitmotif from Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde.
Wagner - Tristan and Isolde:
Prelude and Liebestod
Ravel - Piano Concerto in D major
Shostakovich - Symphony No. 15
Subscriptions (Renewal and New) from Fri 1st to Fri 22nd June 2018
Single Sales from Tue 26th June 2018

music concerts
Nearby hotels and apartments
Huddersfield Town Hall
Wakefield Old Road, Dewsbury, England, UK
Huddersfield Town Hall
Wakefield Old Road, Dewsbury, England, UK